Voyager Vendredi: Sevilla

I thought today would be the perfect day to write my Sevilla post as it is lingering around 93 degrees F. My sticky body reminded me of the 3 days I spent in the southern spanish city, which were all stuck in the mid-90s.

This was one of my favorite stops along my two-week trip. One of the aspects of the city I distinctly remember is the winding streets that barely had street signs. Almost everyone we met was gracious and kind even though I spoke to them through broken Spanish (I haven’t taken the language in a few years, okay!)

The hostel I spent my time in was probably the highlight of my trip. They gave numerous tours (day and night) of the city while also giving away free meals like paella certain days of the week and sangria every night! Sangria is a famous spanish drink composed of wine, juice, and fruit. It is SO good and you must try it if you haven’t yet.

Another box you must check when heading to Sevilla, or anywhere in Spain for that matter, is to try Tapas! I know there are spanish tapas bars in the U.S., but I really think you must experience it first had to understand how amazing they really are.

One dish I will never be able to get out of my head is a type of fried cheese with bread and jam. This dish can come prepared many different ways, but each way is equally amazing. Papas bravas are a staple and they are also very good. Croquetas are another dish that I will miss. They are a fried nigget filled with cheese, flour, and sometimes chicken. I know it may sound weird, but it is so good!

I could go on and on about this city. There are so many things I didn’t get to experience that I wish I could have! Like eating chocolate with churros for an afternoon snack, Drinking some Cruzcampo (the city’s favorite beer) at el Torre del Orro. Locals and tourists drink outside here before going to the bars!

Sevilla is definitely an amazing city and I will never forget it. Hopefully, I’ll clean up my Spanish and head back for an even better experience, but until then….SAM_2802Unfortunately, our Sevilla trip did not have the greatest start. This is us waiting overnight in the Barcelona airport for our 6 am flight to Sevilla. As you can see, we made a nice little sleeping nest behind some chairs before we could check in. Definitely not an experience I will forget.SAM_2805This structure was located near our hostel and in known as Las Setas or as our hostel put it “The mushrooms”. Locals hangout on the steps underneath the structure all day eating and drinking.SAM_2809SAM_2821SAM_2834SAM_2815Again, The Garden backpacker hostel was AMAZING! They provided a rooftop terrace that was perfect for day-time lounging and sunbathing or night-time socializing and drinking. (There was even a hammock!)SAM_2816SAM_2839 SAM_2849 SAM_2856 SAM_2858This is the Toree del Orro which I never got to drink under. Sad face.SAM_2862 SAM_2872This is called Plaza de España and is considered one of the biggest and most beautiful plazas ever! It really was beautiful, but we didn’t spend much time there as it was basically radiated heat on this 90+ degree day.SAM_2876 SAM_2892And until next time…

¡Hasta Luego!

Leave a Reply

