Voyager Vendredi: Nice

After I turned in my 12-page paper comparing two different French paintings (in French I might add) We had a two-week-long Spring Break to recover. Four of my friends and I decided to start the trip in Nice. This city is located in the South East of France known as Côtes d’Azur or the French Riviera.

Unfortunately, our break was scheduled when the Riviera was experiencing weather that was not exactly ideal. I remember one day the weather forecast was set at 90% precipitation. Regardless, we made the best of it!

We walked the boardwalk along the beach and I was amazed at the Mediterranean. The beach was also unlike anything I have ever seen. Unlike the usual sand beaches that I have seen, this beach was made of medium-to-large sized rocks. (Which were pretty unpleasant to walk on). The water wasn’t even near a temperature suitable for swimming so we just stuck our toes in to say we had been there.

That evening we walked the streets looking for a good place to eat. Luckily, we found a restaurant called Festival de Moules. Moules are french for Mussels. I love Moules Frites and this place had bottomless – plus any flavor that they had. We were sold. I’ve tried Moules again since I’ve returned to the States and they’re just really not the same.

We called in a night as we were exhausted from touring the city that day. We began our last full day in Nice with a beautiful picnic on the beach. Our hostel had free towels and blankets that we used to sit on while we munched. Then we decided to head up some steep stairs to get a better look at the city.

Once we were at the top Lindsey and I rewarded ourselves with a nice bière + sirop fraise. If you’ve never heard of this before you should really try it. For some reason the french love to put flavored syrup (like for italian sodas) in their beer. I don’t know who discovered it, but I’m glad they did because I am now in love.

Along with the view, there was also a lovely waterfall at the top of this hill. We stayed awhile taking it all in before heading back to the hostel to eat then wine and a movie to end our time in Nice.

SAM_2351SAM_2356SAM_2380SAM_2386SAM_2396SAM_2400SAM_2404SAM_2405SAM_2427SAM_2451

Until next week…

À Bientôt!

Leave a Reply

