Maquillage Mercredi: The Best of 2013

Screen Shot 2014-01-07 at 10.49.56 PM

With the end of yet another year comes a new one. Hello 2014! But before we say good bye to 2013, let’s take a look at some of my favorites of the past year.

I fell in love with the First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream this past year. I had a terrible batch of dry skin last winter and nothing really helped until I gave this a try way back last January. I use this literally everywhere, but I use it daily as a face moisturizer. No dry patches for this girl!

I’ve been using the Clinique Even Better Foundation for as long as I can remember. Clinique foundations are my favorite because I am positive they will not break me out. Also, this one has a very nice finish and just enough coverage for my skin. I dabbled with a few other foundations this years, but I always end up coming back to this beaut’.

I discovered the Tarte LipSurgence Matte Lip Tint in Fiery later in2013, but it has been my go-to statement lip product every since. Don’t be fooled by the name – this is no lip tint. It is a matte opaque lip product that stays all day. I don’t understand how this product works, but I won’t ask any questions. I can eat with it on, drink with it on, whatever. No budging.

I reaserched the Bioderma Solution Micellaire for awhile before I could actually get my hands on it when I studied abroad in Paris back in February. I’ve went through 3 of the large 500 ml products since then. I use it when I’m too lazy to wash my face or just to remove my make-up. Not the best for waterproof mascara, but works perfectly to remove everything else!

I think I found the Revlon Lip Butter in Juicy Papaya this May when I got back from France. I now own two. I’m nearly out of my first one and I wanted to make sure I had another on hand for whenever I run out. I don’t know what it is about this product, but it just works perfectly with my hair/skin/eyes. No other words.

I bought the Korres Greek Yoghurt Advanced Nourishing Sleeping Facial back when I was struggling with dry patches on my skin and it’s definitely helped out. I can tell I’ve used it the morning after because my skin in plump and very moisturized. Another plus is it doesn’t break me out – perfect!

I received the Stila In the Light Eyeshadow Palette for Christmas last year and I’ve barely used any other eyeshadow since then. Kitten is a special favorite on this palette, but I really love every single color. I usually take Bare all over the lid and Bliss in the crease when I do a cat eye with my favorite liquid eyeliner below…

I bought the Twisted Peppermint Candle from Bath and Body Works last Holiday season and I burned through it ridiculously quickly. I now have another delicious candle burning in my room right now and I couldn’t be happier.

I discovered David Sedaris’ books this summer when I read ‘When You Are Engulfed in Flames’ and I could not get enough. His books are a collection of short essays describing different points in his life. I especially love the essays he writes about France. P.s. They are crazy hilarious and you will laugh out loud at some (all) of these stories.

I bought the Stila Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner at the very beginning of last year.  The title does. not. lie. Nothing is as easy to use or as precise. However, my main reason I love it is due to its longevity. I can fall asleep in this crazy magic liner and wake up looking like a just put it on. MAGIC!

I receive my Timex Watch for Christmas this year, so it’s a bit late to put it in my 2013 favorites. It’s just so damn pretty though. I’ve wanted a nice, classic watch for awhile now and the woven brown leather and gold hardware really says ‘Timeless” to me.

Let me know some of your favorites from this past year! I’d love to try some new products in 2014!

À Bientôt!

Leave a Reply

