Voyager Vendredi: Toulouse

IMG_2364My friend Kimmy and I decided to take a weekend trip to Toulouse one weekend. This city is such a contrast to a hectic Paris. I live in a semi-small college town and this was definitely the French equivalent. Although we have a lake and they have a river – it’s still pretty much the same. Luckily, Kimmy knew some locals who were able to drag us around for the weekend and show us all the great spots!IMG_2361La Garonne runs right through the city and there are some very convenient areas for cool kids to hang out near the shore. We were ridiculously lucky that the weather turned up while we were there. (I even wore shorts one day!) I know we went in April so it shouldn’t have been too crazy, but they were having an off season and it had been unusually cold. IMG_2366IMG_2369IMG_2371IMG_2378I took this picture on a neat bike path that follows a stream along the borders of the city. We rented some bikes and road them to a cool park right outside the borders. It was so beautiful and, unfortunately, you can’t rent one of the city bikes without a European credit card (or the ones that have the chip in them), so we were so lucky to have some locals to help us out!IMG_2379IMG_2383French kids playing in a park. Does anyone else think screaming children sound so much cuter when they’re speaking french? No? Just me? Alright. (But really. So adorable.)IMG_2385On our last day there Kimmy’s friend took us to a cool Japanese style garden. It was so beautiful! Also, another weird thing about french gardens is that usually you can’t sit on the grass. For some reason I really like doing this and would always get yelled at. (We got yelled at right before I took this picture.) Does anyone else find this odd?IMG_2390IMG_2391IMG_2392I’ve never seen one of these in person besides the little office-desk-sized ones. I love it though. I really think it would be mind cleansing to do this on the regular. IMG_2394Sorry for the horrible phone quality of this picture, but I just really needed to share. We went out one night to a musical type bar and ordered this. I’m not sure if this is normal or not, but I’m from Wisconsin and we pretty much exclusively order pitchers among pitchers of beer. Instead, we decided on a large pitcher of straight up red wine. Am I the only one who thinks this is bizarre and amazing at the same time? Who knows.

Au Revoir!

Leave a Reply

