USA Road Trip | Day 5

DSC_0042So this is technically day 6, but I literally took 0 pictures on day 5 so I’m just going to pretend like it never happened. We drove from Seattle to Portland that day then basically became zombies from driving so often. We immediately checked into our hotel. The Crystal Hotel is a part of the McMenamins collection of breweries and hotels. I’d never heard of it before, but it was truly amazing. Apparently, they upcycle historic buildings and turn them into something new. This building – named after the Crystal Ballroom across the street – named all of its rooms after different songs played at the named ballroom (pretty cool, amiright?) There was also a restaurant on the first floor, The Zeus Cafe, a bar below that, Al’s Den, and on the same floor as the bar a soaking pool. You heard me. Basically a pool-sized salt water hot tub. Oh Yeah!

It’s interesting, because the vibes were a complete 180 from the vibes in the Ace Hotel in Seattle that we visited, but I still loved it! It was so much darker and luxurious. It almost felt like were in a haunted hotel? Maybe not, I don’t know what I’m saying. Anyway, it was very cool and I would recommend it!  We woke up the next morning and knew exactly where we would head first – Voodoo doughnuts. Ohhh Yeah. This was literally the only thing I had planned for my trip to Portland. I knew that I needed to make it to this shop. I’m not a crazy doughnut person like some people, but the creative approach to these made me need it. Also – yes, the bricks outside the place are covered in gliter. (!!!!)DSC_0005DSC_0007DSC_0008DSC_0011DSC_0009DSC_0010I decided to go for a standard doughnut covered in chocolate frosting, rice krispies, and peanut butter drizzle. (Idk the name, sorry) Oh god it was good. DSC_0013After a quick sugar coma, we decided to check out Powells bookstore. If you haven’t heard anything about this bookstore before  (like me) then I will tell you that it is supposedly the largest bookstore. Ahhhh! It boasts collections of books across five stories (wow!) We basically got lost in there for awhile. I snagged a copy of Mr Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore. I’d never heard of it before, but it intrigued me. So, new book!DSC_0020Lindsey had read something about how the Crawfish restaurant across from our hotel was supposed to have the best happy hour. So, naturally we had to check it out. I got a pomegranate mojito (mojitos happen to be my favorite drink) and she got some type of alcoholic peach iced tea. We then shared some pepperjack fried cheese (still not as good as cheesecurds IMO). Sorry, I didn’t take any pictures! DSC_0043 DSC_0019 DSC_0017

And that is all from our first day in Portland! Be sure to check in for day 2 in this beautiful city! Hint: there will be flowers.

Bye!

One thought on “USA Road Trip | Day 5

  1. Pingback: USA Road Trip | Day 5

Leave a Reply

